Home & Design Resources

Northern Virginia is a trove of home and design enthusiasts and professionals. Whether you seek a designer, remodeler or landscaper, a home wares store or a new blog to scroll for inspiration and ideas, our roundup of resources has got your abode covered, inside and out.

 

Local Interior Designers

A. Houck Designs, Arlington; 703-237-2111;  www.ahouckdesigns.com

Ambi Design Studio (Shanon Munn), McLean; 703-597-8401; www.ambidesignstudio.com

Andrea Olson, Floor to Ceiling Interiors Inc.; 703-978-0662; www.ftcinteriors.com

Andrea Schwartz,  703-861-1311; www.andreadesignz.com

Basic Organization (Janet Schiesl), Centreville; www.basicorganization.com

Barbara Hawthorn Interiors, 1950 Valley Wood Road, McLean; 703-241-5588; www.barbarahawthorninteriors.com

Barry Dixon, 8394 Elway Lane, Warrenton; 540-341-8501; www.barrydixon.com

Color-Coded, LLC (Alejandra Costello), Arlington; www.alejandra.tv

Creative Elegance Interiors, 4633 Allens Mill Blvd., Haymarket; 571-239-8845; www.creativeeleganceinteriors.com

David Mitchell Interior Design; www.davidmitchellinteriordesign.com

Décor By Denise, 703-714-7343; www.decorbydenise.com

Howarth Designs LLC (Dolly Howarth) www.howarthdesigns.com

Ellen Brotman Interior Designs, Fairfax; 703-573-6100; www.brotmaninteriors.com

Faulkner House Interior Redesign, primarily in Fairfax and Loudoun Counties; 703-689-9886; www.faulknerhouse.com

H. Caldwell-Beebe Interiors, 1219 Stuart Robeson Drive, McLean; 703-790-1183; www.caldwell-beebe.com

Hughes Design Associates, 1487 Chain Bridge Road, #100, McLean; 703-442-3200; www.hughesdes.com

JCL Services, LTD (Lori Welch), Alexandria; www.jclservicesltd.com

Kathy Alexander,  Alexander Interiors, LLC; 703-861-7441; www.alexanderinteriors.com

Kelppinger Design, 2809-A Merrilee Drive, Fairfax; 703-208-2208; www.kleppingerdesign.com

Larson Design/Build Associates, LLC (Steve Larson), 6413 Potomac Ave., Alexandria, 703-765-2457;  www.larsendesignbuild.com

Lascaris Design Group, 6801 Whittier Ave., McLean; 703-556-8895; www.lascaris.com

Lauren Nicole Designs, Serving the Northern Virginia area; 703-726-1638; www.laurennicoleinc.com

Liza Jane Interiors, 21802 Leatherleaf Circle, Sterling; 703-966-1554; www.lizajaneinteriors.com

Maureen McGough, 10332 Main St., # 235, Fairfax; 703-217-0620; www.mcgoughinteriors.com

Meadows Farms Nurseries (Tom Harley, Landscape Designer), 43054 John Mosby Highway, Chantilly; 703-542-2300; www.meadowsfarms.com

Michael Roberson Interior Design, 4320 Lorcom Lane, Arlington; 703-527-9010; www.michaelroberson.com

Natascha Folens at NFinteriors, 11748 Thomas Ave., Great Falls; 703-444-6642; www.nfinteriors.com

Jodie Okun for The Nest Egg, 11940 Grand Commons Avenue, Fairfax; 703-988-0944; www.shopTheNestEgg.com

Niles Bolton Associates, 300 N. Lee St, Suite 502, Alexandria; www.nilesbolton.com

Patricia Gold Interiors, 11665 Captain Rhett Lane, Fairfax Station; 703-978-0780; www.patriciagoldinteriors.com

Prrofound Impact (Julie Gray), Alexandria; www.profound-impact.com

Proxemic Design Group, 14984 Slippery Elm Court, #A, Woodbridge; 703-878-0290

Rachel James Interiors, 8300 Boone Blvd., Suite 500, Vienna; 703-848-9255; www.rjinteriors.com

Sallie Kjos, GreyHunt Interiors, LLC; 703-819-3277; www.greyhuntinteriors.com

Simplify You, Inc. (C. Lee Cawley), Arlington; www.simplifyou.com

Stephanie Kelley, Refined Design, LLC, 703-851-2412; refindeddesignllc.com

Stylish Patina Interiors, Serving the D.C. metro area, kelly@stylishpatina.comwww.stylishpatina.com

Susan Gulick Interiors, 1142 Walker Road, Suite E, Great Falls; 703-674-0332; www.susangulickinteriors.com

Yves Delorme, 6651A Old Dominion Drive, McLean; 703-356-3085; yvesdelorme.com

 

Remodeling Companies

Architectural Construction, P.O. Box 575, Great Falls; 703-893-0695; www.architecturalconstruction.com

Beauchain Builders, 11325 Random Hills Road, Fairfax; 703-540-9171 www.beauchainbuilders.com

Blue Moon Construction, LLC, 23421 Spice Bush Terrace, Ashburn; 703-249-2485; www.BlueMoonConstruction.net

Cabinet Discounters, 14501-F Lee-Jackson Highway, Chantilly, and 5228 Port Royal Road, Springfield; 703-650-0659 and 703-657-8106; www.cabinetdiscounters.com

Commonwealth Home Remodelers, 208-A Dominion Road N.E., Vienna; 703-255-9861; www.commonwealthhome.com

Cook Brothers Design, Building and Remodeling, 5521 Lee Highway, Arlington; 703-536-0900; www.cookbros.org

DreamHome Remodeling Inc. (replacement windows and siding), 7830 Backlick Road, Springfield; 703-455-4650; www.dhremodeling.com

Enterprise Contracting, 13944 G. Willard Road, Chantilly; 703-961-1044; www.enterprisecontracting.com

Ferguson Enterprises, INC., 2964-66 Gallows Road, Falls Church; 703-289-9970; ferguson.com

Foster Remodeling, 7211-H Telegraph Square Drive, Lorton; 703-550-1371; www.fosterremodeling.com

Granitech, 8404 Alban Road, Springfield; 703-550-7912; granitechinc.com

Greco Remodelers Inc., 8817 Commerce Court, Manassas; 703-369-4446; www.grecoremodelers.com

Jenkins Restorations, 22980 Shaw Road, Sterling, and 4936 Trade Center Drive, Fredericksburg; 703-450-6580 and 540-898-6809; www.jenkinsrestorations.com

JJ & K Custom Remodeling, 21832 James Monroe Highway, Aldie; 703-327-3826; www.jjkremodeling.com

Kirkpatrick’s Construction, LLC, P.O. Box 230011, Centreville; 703-830-7873; www.kirkpatricksconstruction.com

Knoll Construction, 3816 Ren Road, Fairfax; 703-691-1939

Lensis Builders, 12060 Cadet Court, Manassas; 703-367-8999; www.lensisbuilders.com

Metropolitan Bath and Tile, 3656 Centerview Drive Unit 13, Chantilly; 703-349-7585 and 888-906-1199; metrobathandtile.com

Michael Nash Custom Kitchens and Homes, 8630-C Lee Highway, Fairfax; 703-641-9800; www.michaelnashkitchens.com

Mickey Simpson Architects and Builders,703-525-5020; www.mickeysimpson.com

Middleburg Design Company, 103A W. Federal St., Middleburg; 540-687-3660; www.middleburgdesign.com

Moss Building & Design, 4265-D Brookfield Corporate Drive, Chantilly; 703-961-7707; www.mossbuildinganddesign.com

My Builder, Inc. (basements), 8665 Sudley Road, #158, Manassas; 703-929-5376; www.mybuilderva.com

Northern Virginia Remodeling and Painting, Falls Church; 703-641-7910

NVS Kitchen & Bath, 8982 Hornbaker Road, Manassas; 703-378-2600; www.nvskb.com

Oak Hill Building and Remodeling, 10615 Judicial Drive, Suite 501, Fairfax; 703-591-1200; www.oakhillbuilding.com

Paragon Remodeling, Inc., 8000 Towers Crescent Drive, Floor 13, Vienna; 703-426-5555; www.paragonremodeling.com

Potts and Chapa Construction, 450 W. Broad St., Falls Church; 703-534-5992; www.pottsandchapa.com

PowerHouse Remodeling (decks and patios), 11900 Chanceford Dr., Woodbridge; 703-680-9900; www.powerhousedecks.com

Prince William Home Improvement, 14910 Persistence Drive, Woodbridge; 703-492-1294; www.pwhomeimprovement.com

Professional Remodeling Group, 8632 Centreville Road, Manassas, and 11350 Random Hills Road, Suite 800, Fairfax; 703-281-0909; www.professionalremodelinggroup.com

Pyne Studios, 6448 Elmdale Road, Alexandria; 703-462-3405; www.pynestudios.com

Russell M. Smith Construction; 703-669-1105; www.rmsmithconstruction.com

Sun Design, 5795 B Burke Centre Pkwy, Burke; 703 425-5588; www.sundesigninc.com

Synergy Design & Construction, 11701 Bowman Green Drive, Suite 100, Reston; 703-766-6333; synergydandc.com

TCS Building Inc., 1902 N. Lincoln St., Arlington; 703-525-6888; www.tcsbuilding.com

Terranova Design & Remodel, 8453-Q Tyco Road, Vienna; 703-761-0604; terranovackb.com

The Gallick Corporation, 111-C Carpenter Drive, Sterling; 703-787-0313; www.gallickcorp.com

 

Home and Design Stores

Individually Owned

Apartment Zero, 406 7th St., Suite 1, Washington D.C.; 703-538-2309; www.apartmentzero.com

Alexandria Lighting, 701 N. Henry St., Alexandria; 703-548-2320; alexandrialighting.com

Artee Fabrics and Home, 45449 Severn Way, Sterling; 703-796-9533; www.arteefabricsandhome.com/sterling

Aspen Green Gasworks, 307 Spring St., Herndon; 703-657-0477; aspengreengasworks.com

California Closets, 2800 Suite A Dorr Ave., Fairfax; 703-573-9300; www.californiaclosets.com

Caprio & Deutsch, 4755 Lee Highway, Arlington; 703-841-0355

Creative Classics, 906 King St., Alexandria; 703-518-4663; www.creativeclassics.com

Dominion Associates, Inc, 703-451-1476; www.dominionassociatesinc.com

ECO-NIZE, 703-326-6493, www.eco-nize.com

Elegance Decor, 3856-L Dulles South Court, Chantilly; 703-395-6795; www.elegancedecor.com

European Country Living, 1006 King Street, Alexandria; 703-778-4172; www.europeancountryliving.com

Homebody, 715 8th St. SE, Washington; 202-544-8445; www.homebodydc.com

Ideal Tile, 929 W. Broad St., Falls Church; 703-237-8400; idealtile.biz

IMI Furniture, 1100 W. Church Road, Sterling; 703-430-2100; www.imifurniture.com

Infitity Tile & Design, 42601 Magellan Square, Ashburn; 703-227-7158; infinity-tile.com

Janus Et Cie, 3304 M St. NW, Washington D.C.; 202-333-8111; www.janusetcie.com

Lila HOME Designs, 20916 Stubble Road, Ashburn; 703-726–1638; www.lilahomedesigns.com

McLean Furniture Gallery; 8500 Lee Highway, Fairfax; 703-280-8210; www.mcleanfurniture.com

Northern Virginia Tile Company, 703-447-9380; nvtileco.com

NVS Kitchen and Bath, 8982 Hornbaker Road, Manassas; 703-378-2600; www.nvskb.com

Offenbacher’s, 11264 James Swart Circle, Fairfax; 703-591-9840; www.offenbachers.com

Patrick’s Fine Linen and Home Déco, 106 N. St. Asaph St., Alexandria; 571-970-6931; www.patricksdesigns.com

Posh, 200 Dominion Road N.E., Vienna; 703-319-2260

Potomac Paint & Design Centers, 5701 Lee Highway, Arlington; 703-534-4477; www.potomacpaint.com

The Brass Knob Architectural Antiques, Inc, 2311 18th St. NW, Washington; 202-332-3370; www.thebrassknob.com

The Final Yard, 33 E Gerrard St., Winchester; 540-678-0085; www.thefinalyard.com

The Nest Egg, 11940 Grand Commons Avenue, Fairfax; 703-988-0944; www.shopTheNestEgg.com

Red Barn Mercantile, 1117 King St., Alexandria; 703-838-0355; www.redbarnmercantile.com

Small Appliances / M&M Appliances, 6201 Blair Road NW, Washington, D.C.; 202-882-7100; www.mandmappliance.comwww.dcorganizers.org

Stylish Patina, 410 S. Maple Ave., Falls Church; 703-663-8428; www.stylishpatina.com

Van Bommel Antiek Haus, 1007 King St., Alexandria; 703-683-4141

Victoria at Home (Victoria Sanchez Interiors) 1125 King St, Alexandria; 703-836-1960; www.victoriaathome.com

Virginia Space Makers, P.O. Box 220404, Chantilly; 571-366-9477; www.virginiaspacemakers.com

 

Secondhand Stores

Old Lucketts Store, 42350 Lucketts Road, Leesburg; 703-779-0268; www.luckettstore.com

On a Whim Antiques and Home Décor, 14920 James Monroe Highway, Leesburg; 703-771-4844; www.onawhimantiques.com

 

Chains

Ace Hardware
Multiple Locations
www.acehardware.com 

Architectural Ceramics
7505P Leesburg Pike, Falls Church; 703-714-0161
203 S. Union St., Alexandria; 703-299-6200
architecturalceramics.com

Arhaus Furniture
4213 Fairfax Corner East Ave., Fairfax; 703-968-9688
7871-L Tysons Corner Center, McLean; 703-734-9001
www.arhaus.com

Bo Concept
1763-U International Drive, McLean; 703-556-4444
www.boconcept.com

CB2
3307 M St. NW, Washington, D.C.; 202-333-6204
www.cb2.com 

Crate and Barrel
1800 W. International Drive, McLean; 703-891-0090
2800 Clarendon Blvd., Arlington; 703-890-2300
1700 Prince St., Alexandria; 703-739-8800 (outlet)
www.crateandbarrel.com

Grainger Industrial Supply (for fantechfans)
2947 Gallows Road, Falls Church; 703-698-1503
grainger.com 

Home Depot
Multiple Locations
www.homedepot.com 

Home Goods
20020 Ashbrook Commons Plaza, Suite 193, Ashburn; 703-723-4891
1301 Fair Lakes Shopping Center, Fairfax; 703-222-6914
3540 S. Jefferson St., Falls Church; 703-933-0050
13221 Gateway Center Drive, Gainesville; 571-248-4764
www.homegoods.com

IKEA
2901 Potomac Mills Circle, Woodbridge; 703-494-4532; www.ikea.com

Lowe’s Home Improvement
Multiple Locations
www.lowes.com 

Paper Source
2910 District Ave., Fairfax
118 King St., Alexandria
11975 Market St., Reston
www.paper-source.com 

Porcelanosa
701 Dover Road, Unit B, Rockville, MD; 301-294-8193
porcelanosa-usa.com

Pottery Barn
2700 Clarendon Blvd., Arlington; 703-465-9425
11824u Fair Oaks Mall, Fairfax; 703-385-7550
8004l Tysons Corner Center, Mclean; 703-288-0316
11937 Market St., Reston; 703-437-6001
www.potterybarn.com

Restoration Hardware
614 King St., Alexandria; 703-299-6220
7926 Tysons Corner Center, McLean; 703-821-9655
241 Fort Evans Road, Suite 841, Leesburg; 703-443-1162 (outlet)
www.restorationhardware.com

Scrapbooks Plus
14502A Lee Road, Chantilly
www.scrapbooks-plus.com 

Stone Center
Multiple Locations
www.stonecenterofva.com 

Valerianne
211 Mill St. NE, Vienna; 703-242-1790
www.valerianne.com/dc

West Elm
1961 Chain Bridge Road, McLean; 571-633-0227
www.westelm.com  

 

Home and Design Blogs

goinggreendc.net
A blog about organic restaurants, urban farming, natural health and beauty, green events, local eco-friendly businesses and more.

mynottinghill.blogspot.com
A photo-heavy blog that focuses on local interior design and decorating.

apartmenttherapy.com/dc
This national blog’s D.C. page features home tips, sales and events and photographic house tours.

outdoorlightsblog.com
Patrick Harders, president and head designer for Outdoor Lighting Perspectives of Northern Virginia, offers tips for outdoor lighting—whether you’re a do-it-yourself homeowner or someone interested in hiring professional help.

architectdesign.blogspot.com
D.C. residential architect Stefan Hurray’s blog mixes architecture, design and travel.

blog.wethmangroup.com
Real estate advice from the Wethman Group—a team of agents, administrative professionals and vendors.

revolutionarygardens.com/blog
Culpeper resident Dave Marciniak says he gets “pretty geeky about landscape design, plants, architecture and a wide range of other projects.” By day, this blogger is the owner and head designer of a landscape design company.

stylishpatina.com
A blog written by designer & home decor curator Kelly Millspugh Thompson. Kelly shares tips on how to: transform your furniture in a day with Annie Sloan Chalk Paint, easy tips to include vintage & modern design elements into your home and so much more.

laurennicoleinc.com/interior-design-blog
Follow along with a national award winning decorator as she gives real life design tips and trends and shows amazing room transformations.

lilahomedesigns.com/blog
Chic couldn’t be easier! The Lila Home Designs blog showcases the latest trends in home decor, accessories, gifts and more! Learn how to create a sense of harmony in your home.

 

Local Landscaping Companies
Blue Sky Landscaping, P.O. Box 332, Oakton; 703-758-1494; www.blue-skylandscaping.com

Campbell & Ferrara Outdoor Living, 8351 Richmond Highway, Alexandria; 703-354-6724; www.campbellferrara.com

Cravens Nursery, 9023 Arlington Blvd., Fairfax; 703-573-5025; www.cravensnursery.com

Environmental Enhancements, Inc., 22182 Shaw Road, Sterling; 703-421-7400; www.eelandscaping.com

Grigg Design Landscape Design, 8193A Euclid Court, Manassas Park; 703-368-7539; www.gdiva.com

Groff Landscape Design, LLC, 11208 Robert Carter Road; Fairfax Station; 703–999-8225; www.grofflandscapedesign.com

Grow Landscapes, 2820 Hollywood Road, Falls Church; 703-711-1003; www.growlandscapes.net

Hidden Lane Landscaping and Design, 12539 Lawyers Road, Herndon; 703-620-6155; www.hiddenlanelandscaping.com

Independence Landscape and Lawn Care, P.O. Box 1447, Lorton; 703-887-1834; www.independencelandscape.com

JHLA/Jennifer Horn Landscape Architecture LLC (Jennifer Horn), 4200 Wisconsin Ave. NW, Washington D.C.; 202-573-7581; www.jenniferghorn.com

K&H Lawn Services, Inc., 20098 Ashbrook Place, Suite 185, Ashbun; 703-849-0713; khlandscaping.com 

Lake Ridge Nursery, 3705 Old Bridge Rd., Woodbridge; 703-590-0178; www.lakeridgenursery.net

Lost Creek Landscapes, 24558 Amethyst Lane, Lot 2, Chantilly; 703-499-2591; www.lostcreeklandscapes.com

Merrifield Garden Center, 8132 Lee Highway, Fall Church ; 703-560-6222; www.merrifieldgardencenter.com

Neff Bros. Stone, 9119 Industry Drive, Manassas Park; 703-361-7365; www.neffandneff.com

Silverbrook Nursery, 8408 Monacan Road, Lorton; 703-690-1231; www.silverbrooknursery.com

Sisson Landscapes, 10120 Colvin Run Road, Great Falls; 703-759-2012; www.sissonlandscapes.com

South Riding Nurseries, 43571 John Mosby Hwy., Suite 100, Chantilly; 703-327-5161; www.southridingnurseries.com

Wheat’s Landscape, 8620 Park St., Vienna; 703-641-4790; www.wheats.com

 

Additional Local Online Resources
www.chickspicksbyhillary.com
Sterling-based web store offering everything from jewelry and handbags to home decorations.

www.threepotatofourshop.com
Reston-based web store specializing in hip and vintage home decor.

www.napo.net
National Organization of Professional Organizers.