Professional rugby has officially arrived in DC. Here’s Old Glory DC’s 2020 schedule.

Get ready rugby fans: We have all the need-to-know-info on Old Glory DC’s inaugural season.

Photo by Colleen McCloskey

In a few short months, the DC region will be able to say something it has never been able to say before: “It’s professional rugby season.”

The region is now officially home to DC’s first Major League Rugby (MLR) team, Old Glory DC, and the inaugural season will kick off on Saturday, Feb. 8, in New Orleans, against NOLA Gold Rugby.

For the team’s first home opener, Old Glory will host the Seattle Seawolves on Sunday, Feb. 16. Old Glory will have eight home games this season, all of which are scheduled on weekends (seven on Sundays and one on a Saturday). The team will host home games on Feb. 16; March 8, 15 and 29; April 11 and 26; and May 3 and 24 at Cardinal Stadium at The Catholic University of America.

The 2020 season schedule for the league also brought a new structure to how the MLR operates, as well as the addition of three teams (Old Glory, Rugby ATL and the New England Free Jacks).

The regular league season will feature 96 matches and will be held from February through May. It is the MLR’s third season, which features an Eastern and Western conference-style structure. Each team in the league plays 10 in-conference games, and six cross-conference games. The MLR season concludes with a five-match championship series with a championship game of East versus West.

For more information, or to buy tickets, visit // The Catholic University of America: 600 Taylor St. NE, Washington, DC; ticket prices to be announced

Fill your calendar with fun! Subscribe to our Things to Do newsletter today.

Loading cart ...