Here’s everything you need to know about Trump’s travel ban due to coronavirus

The recently announced travel suspension will restrict travel from Europe over the course of 30 days to slow the spread of the novel coronavirus.

On March 13, President Donald Trump announced a travel suspension from Europe for 30 days (scheduled to end Monday, April 13) in an attempt to slow and contain the spread of the novel coronavirus in the United States. While the ban was initially only relevant to 26 countries in Europe (as well as China and Iran from earlier this month), it has since expanded to include Ireland and the United Kingdom. 

According to an article from the BBC, the ban applies to non-Americans who have been in the Schengen border-free travel area within 14 days of traveling to the United States.

As for American citizens, representatives of Homeland Security announced that those currently in Europe trying to make their way home are allowed to enter the states during the ban, so long as they travel through 13 designated airports for “screening procedures.” When the ban first went into effect over the weekend, scenes from the screening airports consisted of lines with more than 200 people, confused staff members and overwhelming chaos, documented via Twitter and other social media platforms. 

According to an advisory from American Airlines, the below-listed airports are where enhanced screening procedures will occur, all of which are the same airports where travelers coming from China have been screened. As of right now, BWI and Reagan National Airport are not being used screening centers for travelers.

  • Atlanta Hartsfield–Jackson Atlanta International Airport 
  • Dallas Fort Worth International Airport 
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport 
  • Honolulu’s Daniel K. Inouye International Airport 
  • New York JFK Airport
  • Los Angeles International Airport
  • Chicago O’Hare International Airport 
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport 
  • San Francisco International Airport
  • Washington-Dulles International Airport

According to Customs and Border Patrol Acting Commissioner Mark Morgan, staffing at all locations have been increased in order to accommodate the large volume of travelers who need to be tested for COVID-19. On the afternoon of Monday, March 16, the nationwide changes to typical travel has led U.S. airlines to ask for more than $50 billion in federal assistance in this time of economic uncertainty, according to The Washington Post

Below, find a full list of the countries included in the current travel ban.

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • China
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Iran
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom

Due to the recent rise of COVID-19 (coronavirus) cases in the DMV, we are informing readers about need-to-know updates across the region, as well as across the globe. If you are looking for national updates, local school coverage and more, please visit our dedicated coronavirus coverage here

Loading cart ...